Classics Spin #14: The result

The result of the latest Classics Spin has been revealed today – and I’m very happy with the book I’ll be reading!

The idea of the Spin was to list twenty books from my Classics Club list, number them 1 to 20, and the number announced today (Monday) represents the book I have to read before 1st December 2016. The number that has been selected is…

1

And this means the book I need to read is…

wuthering-heights

Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë

This will be a re-read of one of my favourite books. It seems that Wuthering Heights is a book people either love or hate; I’ve always loved it and am looking forward to revisiting it for the Classics Club. It’s been a while since I last read it, so I hope I’ll still enjoy it as much as I used to!

~

Did you take part in the Classics Spin? What will you be reading?

19 thoughts on “Classics Spin #14: The result

  1. whatmeread says:

    Oh, lucky you! I got Ada by Nabokov, which I have never read before. I was actually hoping for an old favorite, just to get to relax a little, but so far they have never chosen any of my old favorites.

  2. Karen K. says:

    I got “A Dance to the Music of Time” by Anthony Powell. I’m getting down to the end of my list and I’m really happy to read this one, I’ve been putting it off for a long time. Happy reading!

  3. Sandra says:

    Enjoy, Helen! I seem to be one of the few who sit on the fence with Wuthering Heights. I didn’t hate it but it is my least favourite Bronte book so far. I shall probably read it again – perhaps I’ll get a stronger reaction second time around. And perhaps my spin choice (White Nights by Dostoevsky) will kindle the sparks of a love affair with classic russian literature 🙂

    • Helen says:

      I would be interested to know what you think of White Nights. I haven’t read that one yet but I’ve enjoyed most of the other Russian classics I’ve read, including Dostoevsky’s The Idiot. Hopefully it will be good enough to make you want to read more Russian literature!

    • Helen says:

      I probably shouldn’t have taken part either as there are already so many other books I’m hoping to read in the next few months. I’m getting impatient to finish my Classics Club list, though – I’m already starting to think about a second list.

  4. jessicabookworm says:

    Sadly, I wasn’t able to take part this year as I have just been too busy to even get a list together. I hope you enjoy your re-read of Wuthering Heights – I am in the love camp 😀

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

