Top Ten Tuesday: Ten authors new to me in 2016

Top Ten Tuesday Today’s Top Ten Tuesday topic (hosted by The Broke and the Bookish) is: Top Ten New-To-Me Authors I Read For The First Time In 2016. I’ve discovered lots of new authors this year, so I thought it would be interesting to join in this week and list some of them. Here, then, are ten books by authors I’ve read for the first time in 2016:

~

1. Jane Smiley

Some Luck

Some Luck is the first in a trilogy following one American family over a period of one hundred years. I read this book in February and have the second one, Early Warning, on my shelf ready to start soon. I’m hoping I haven’t left it too long and will be able to pick up all the threads of the story again.

~

2. George Sand

Mauprat

I read Mauprat in April for the Women’s Classic Literature Event and really enjoyed it – I remember being surprised as it wasn’t quite what I had expected Sand’s work to be like. I will be reading more!

~

3. Jules Verne

Around the World in 80 Days

I had never read anything by Jules Verne until this year, but I found Around the World in Eighty Days a fun, entertaining read and am now keeping Verne in mind for future reading.

~

4. Rosemary Sutcliff

The Rider of the White Horse

I can’t believe it has taken me so long to get around to reading Rosemary Sutcliff! The Rider of the White Horse wasn’t the book I was intending to start with, but I liked it enough to want to read more.

~

5. Charlotte M Yonge

The Heir of Redclyffe

I love Victorian novels and The Heir of Redclyffe was a book I had been meaning to read for a long time. It didn’t become an instant favourite, but I did like it and will consider reading more books by Yonge in the future.

~

6. Patrick Gale

A Place Called Winter

I probably wouldn’t have read A Place Called Winter if it hadn’t been on the list for my Walter Scott Prize Project, but I’m so pleased I did read it, because I loved it. Patrick Gale’s other books sound quite different from this one, but I’m still interested in trying them.

~

7. Debra Daley

The Revelations of Carey Ravine

I had the pleasure of reading and reviewing The Revelations of Carey Ravine for Shiny New Books earlier this year. I loved it and am looking forward to going back and reading Debra Daley’s earlier novel, Turning the Stones.

~

8. Lesley Downer

the-shoguns-queen

The Shogun’s Queen is one of a quartet of novels set in 19th century Japan. I found it fascinating and am sure I’ll be reading the other three at some point.

~

9. Edmund Crispin

the-moving-toyshop

The Moving Toyshop was another book I’d been meaning to read for years – and another one that I loved. This is one of Crispin’s Gervase Fen mysteries and luckily there are ten more books in the series for me to look forward to.

~

10. Ray Bradbury

something-wicked-this-way-comes

I read Something Wicked This Way Comes for a readalong hosted by Lory. Although I wasn’t sure if Ray Bradbury would be my sort of author, I enjoyed this one much more than I’d expected to and would be happy to read more of his books.

~

So, these are ten authors who were new to me in 2016. Are they new to you too or have I listed any of your favourites? Which of their books would you recommend I try next?

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten authors new to me in 2016

  1. jessicabookworm says:

    Ray Bradbury is one of my favourites, so I am very pleased to see he made your list. Other books of his I have read and can recommend are Fahrenheit 451, Dandelion Wine and The October Country; my favourite of which is Dandelion Wine. Happy reading 🙂

  2. Debbie Rodgers @Exurbanis says:

    I read Rosemary Sutcliff’s Eagle of the Ninth as required reading in grade nine English class. I loved it then, although a reread in 1998 didn’t hold up so well.

    Try Ray Bradbury’s Dandelion Wine. It’s one of my all-time favourite books – and has held up to many rereads over the last 50 years.

    • Helen says:

      I wish I’d read Eagle of the Ninth when I was younger too. I’m hoping it’s the sort of book I can still enjoy as an adult. And as you’re the second person to recommend Dandelion Wine, I think I’ll definitely have to try reading that one soon!

    • Helen says:

      The memoir sounds interesting, though I would like to try some more of her novels first. I have a few of her books on the TBR which I’m hoping to read next year.

    • Helen says:

      Oh, I’m sure I will. I have the other two books in the Hundred Years trilogy on the TBR and hopefully I’ll get round to reading them soon. 🙂

  3. Judy Krueger says:

    Nice! I have been reading Jane Smiley for years and have liked all I have read. My most recent new author is Mary Renault. Just finished The King Must Die. So good. I bet you have read her.

    • Helen says:

      The King Must Die is actually the only Mary Renault novel I’ve read. I’m glad you enjoyed it – and thanks for reminding me that I really need to read the sequel soon!

    • Helen says:

      Neither of those books are well-known classics, but I liked them both. I hope you and your friend enjoy whichever classic you choose to read next year. 🙂

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

