Historical Fiction Reading Challenge 2017

historical-fiction-challenge-2017 When I first started blogging I could never resist the temptation at this time of year to sign up for as many reading challenges as possible. Recently, though, I have been restricting myself to one or two year-long challenges, preferring to have more freedom in my reading choices and more time to take part in shorter reading events.

The Historical Fiction Reading Challenge hosted by Passages to the Past is one of the few challenges I still like to participate in. It’s perfect for me as I read a lot of historical fiction anyway so don’t need to make any changes to my reading habits, but can still enjoy linking my reviews to the monthly challenge posts, seeing what other participants are reading and discovering new historical fiction novels and bloggers.

The rules are the same as in previous years. The challenge runs from January 1st to December 31st 2017 and there are six different levels to choose from:

20th Century Reader – 2 books
Victorian Reader – 5 books
Renaissance Reader – 10 books
Medieval – 15 books
Ancient History – 25 books
Prehistoric – 50+ books

Any type of historical fiction is accepted including sub-genres such as Historical Romance, Historical Mystery, Historical Fantasy and Young Adult.

In 2016, I successfully completed the challenge at the Prehistoric level (if you’re interested, you can see the list of titles here) so I’ll be aiming for 50+ books again this year.

I’ll be keeping track of my progress on this page.

If you’re interested in joining the challenge too, please see the sign-up post at Passages to the Past!

18 thoughts on “Historical Fiction Reading Challenge 2017”

  1. Tempted by this one, though I’m trying not to take on too many challenges this year. But I may dip my toe in at Victorian Reader level… so long as no-one will think that’s a comment on my age… 😉 Good luck with your Prehistoric! And have a great New Year, bookish and otherwise. 😀

    1. I’m glad you’re joining in again. Good luck to you too! As long as you’re enjoying your reading I don’t think it really matters how many books you read. 🙂

  2. Good luck! I feel the same way about challenges. I used to sign up for so many, but lately I’ve been paring it down a lot. The HF challenge is one of the few I like participating in, though at a much lower level. Congrats on prehistoric! I appreciate how many HF books you read–you really help me narrow down my own list. Thanks!

    1. Thank you. I used to love challenges, but these days I prefer to have the freedom to read whatever I want. Historical fiction is my favourite genre anyway, so this particular challenge is one I never have any trouble completing!

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

