Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books On My Spring TBR

Top Ten Tuesday

I have a lot more than ten books on my TBR for this spring, but for the purpose of this week’s Top Ten Tuesday – hosted by The Broke and the Bookish – I’ve put a list together of ten that I’m particularly hoping to read in the next few months.

~

The remaining books on my Classics Club list:

1. The Leopard by Giuseppe Tomasi di Lampedusa

2. I, Claudius by Robert Graves

3. Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier (re-read)

4. The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas (re-read)

~

A few from my NetGalley shelf:

5. The Shadow Queen by Anne O’Brien

6. The Outcasts of Time by Ian Mortimer

7. The Wild Air by Rebecca Mascull

~

Because I’ve just finished the first book in the series (Wintercombe) and can’t wait to read the next:

8. Herald of Joy by Pamela Belle

~

For Lory’s Elizabeth Goudge Day in April (my choice of book could change, but I definitely want to take part):

9. Towers in the Mist by Elizabeth Goudge

~

Because I always look forward to new books from this author:

10. Dead Woman Walking by Sharon Bolton

~

Have you read any of these? Which books are on your spring TBR this year?

35 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books On My Spring TBR

  1. Fariba says:

    I, Claudius is very good but make sure to create a family tree to keep track of all the names and relationships. I really want to watch the television show now.

  2. FictionFan says:

    Can’t wait for Dead Woman Walking! Otherwise I’m most tempted by The Leopard – I’ve heard the film version is excellent, so I’ll be intrigued to hear what you think of the book…

  3. Jenny Duffy says:

    Rebecca is brilliant, such an atmospheric and spooky novel. The Wild Air is also on my “https://thebookstheartandme.wordpress.com/2017/03/14/top-ten-tuesday-top-ten-books-on-my-spring-tbr/ “>TTT

  4. Pam Thomas says:

    Loved Towers in the Mist when I was a teenager, but I suspect I might find it a little sentimental now – Elizabeth Goudge is a very evocative, descriptive writer but also a bit self-indulgent. I Claudius and Claudius the God are brilliant, and I enjoyed the TV series, but it suffered, despite its superb cast, of having a budget of about five pence. Particularly in the scene where the Roman mob consists of a scant half dozen, and the Empress Livia shouts from her balcony the immortal words, ‘You wait till my husband gets home!’
    Hope you enjoyed Wintercombe!

    • Helen says:

      I’m relatively new to Elizabeth Goudge’s books and have been enjoying them, but I think I would have liked them even more as a teenager. And yes, I loved Wintercombe! I only finished it a few days ago, so will have a short break and then start Herald of Joy. 🙂

    • Helen says:

      I’ve only heard good things about The Leopard, so I’m looking forward to reading it. The Count of Monte Cristo is one of my favourite books – this will be a re-read for me and I’m hoping I’ll still love it.

  5. Small Review says:

    huh The Outcasts of Time sounds intriguing. I enjoy his non-fiction and the premise of this one sounds interesting. Definitely looking forward to your thoughts on that one. Also curious about the Anne O’Brien book. Her books are a guilty pleasure for me.

    • Helen says:

      Anne O’Brien is a guilty pleasure for me too. I’m looking forward to reading her new one. And yes, The Outcasts of Time sounds fascinating!

  6. Ludo says:

    Considering that I am Italian, it shoud be about time I read The leopard myself. As for Rebecca, I am saving it because it is considered du Maurier masterpiece.

  7. J.E. Fountain says:

    Nice choices. The Count of Monte Cristo is one of my top two favorites (I vacillate between it and LOTR). I, Claudius is fascinating, and a nice way to get some Roman history. Farina is correct; some sort of family tree to refer to will be helpful.

    • Helen says:

      I love The Count of Monte Cristo and can’t wait to read it again. I, Claudius does sound fascinating – I’ll be sure to make a family tree as I read.

  8. Judy Krueger says:

    What a great list! I have read The Leopard, Rebecca, and every one of Elizabeth Goudge’s novels. I will have to check out Lory’s Elizabeth Goudge Day. I have never met anyone who still reads her books. My mother and sisters have also read them all.

  9. Sandra says:

    What a lot to look forward to! I adored I Claudius, a rare instance of where the book and the tv series were equally wonderful. Rebecca is a perennial favourite. I only heard of The Leopard for the first time in a random tv show a few days ago; it sounds wonderful. I’ll look forward to your reviews, Helen 🙂

    • Helen says:

      Yes, I’m excited about reading all of the books I’ve listed here. The Leopard does sound wonderful! I’m pleased that you and so many of the other commenters above have bestowed so much praise on I, Claudius – I’m really looking forward to reading it now. 🙂

  10. JaneGS says:

    I really enjoyed I, Claudius – I tried to watch the mini-series, but it was so dated I just couldn’t. Time for a remake! Rebecca is always fun to read. I tried reading The Leopard a few years ago–but was completely lost. Didn’t know enough Italian history to understand what was happening. Eager to hear how you like it.

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

