Shadow of the Moon readalong

Just a quick post today to tell you about a readalong I’m going to be participating in this summer. I know I’ve mentioned before that The Far Pavilions by MM Kaye is one of my favourite historical fiction novels. I have also enjoyed two of her mysteries – Death in Kashmir and Death in Berlin – but for some reason still haven’t read her other historical novels, Shadow of the Moon and Trade Wind, despite having had a copy of the former on my shelf for a while now. When I saw that Cirtnecce of Mockingbirds, Looking Glasses and Prejudices and Cleo of Classical Carousel were planning a Shadow of the Moon readalong starting in June this seemed the perfect opportunity to finally pick up my copy and start reading.

Like The Far Pavilions, this book is set in India, a country Kaye really seemed to understand and wrote about beautifully. It was published in 1957, much earlier than The Far Pavilions (1978), so I’m curious to see what it is like and, from what I’ve heard about it, I’m anticipating another great read!

10 thoughts on “Shadow of the Moon readalong

  1. whatmeread says:

    Gosh, I probably read this book in the 1970’s! I don’t remember anything about it at all, but I think I enjoyed it. Maybe your review will refresh my memory.

  2. cirtnecce says:

    I am so glad you are joining us! I love the Far Pavilions and her thrillers as well. This one is of course Kaye’s first foray into Historical Fiction and we can see some of the ideas that took seed in this book to come to its own in the Pavilions!

    • Helen says:

      Thanks. I’ll be interested to see what her first attempt at historical fiction was like. If I enjoy it even half as much as The Far Pavilions I’ll be happy!

  3. buriedinprint says:

    This seems like a perfect summer read, long and romantic, except maybe some teeny-tiny print in there?

    • Helen says:

      I think this will be a great book to read over the summer. Yes, it’s long and the print in my edition is small, but we’re planning to go at a slow pace!

  4. aartichapati says:

    Ooh, I have also had this book on my shelf for years! I admit I have never picked it up because I am a little worried about the colonialism… but maybe it’s not so bad?

    • Helen says:

      I don’t know about this book, but in The Far Pavilions I think Kaye writes about India with a lot of understanding and empathy. I hope you enjoy this one if and when you pick it up, and that the colonialism doesn’t turn out to be a problem.

  5. Yvonne says:

    Hello, Helen. Thanks to your post I’m joining in this readalong. Shadow of the Moon has been on my reading wish list for a very long time. Thanks to the library I have my copy and am ready to go!

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

