Top Ten Tuesday: Best books read in 2017 so far

Unbelievably, we’re now halfway through the year – and for this week’s Top Ten Tuesday (hosted by The Broke and Bookish), we are asked to list our top ten books read in 2017 so far.

I found this list surprisingly easy to put together, although there were a few other books I would have liked to include but couldn’t as I was limited to ten. Maybe some of them will make it onto my end-of-year list in December, when I won’t be restricted by numbers! For now, here is my list of ten, not in any particular order:

~

1. Golden Hill by Francis Spufford

2. East of Eden by John Steinbeck

3. Wintercombe by Pamela Belle

4. The Wonder by Emma Donoghue

5. Towers in the Mist by Elizabeth Goudge

6. The Red House Mystery by A.A. Milne

7. His Bloody Project by Graeme Macrae Burnet

8. They Came to Baghdad by Agatha Christie

9. Lost Horizon by James Hilton

10. The Red Sphinx by Alexandre Dumas

~

Have you read any of these? What are the best books you’ve read in the first six months of the year?

24 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Best books read in 2017 so far

  1. cirtnecce says:

    Awesome list!! East of Eden has been an all time go to novel for me!!I also love this particular Christie novel! I really like the The Wonder as well, which I picked up post your post and I have the Red House Mystery in my TBR for the weekend!I

  2. Lory @ Emerald City Book Review says:

    Golden Hill just came in for me at the library. It sounds wonderful! So glad you found Towers in the Mist worthy of this list too. It did not quite make it there for me (there are others of Goudge’s books that I liked better), but I did enjoy it.

    • Helen says:

      I hope you enjoy Golden Hill – it’s great! I’ve loved all of the Elizabeth Goudge books I’ve read so far and I’m so glad I discovered her through your blog. 🙂

  3. Pam Thomas says:

    I loved ‘Golden Hill’ when I read it last year, and Towers in the Mist was always a favourite, but I haven’t (yet) read any of the others – apart from ‘Wintercombe’ of course. I’m thrilled you’ve included it in your list!

    • Helen says:

      I would have included Herald of Joy on my list as well, but decided to restrict myself to one book per author. I’m hoping to read the rest of the series soon. 🙂

  4. Judy Krueger says:

    I have read East of Eden, one of my all time favorite books. In fact, I have read it twice. As you know, I also thought The Wonder was great. My favorite books this year began with The Nix by Nathan Hill, followed by All the Birds in the Sky by Charlie Jane Anders.

    • Helen says:

      I loved East of Eden and really hadn’t expected to. I’m sure I’ll want to read it again one day too. I’ll have to look out for The Nix and All the Birds in the Sky!

  5. jessicabookworm says:

    Sadly I haven’t read any of these, however I would really like to read They Came to Baghdad by Agatha Christie and The Red Sphinx by Alexandre Dumas. I have made my own Top Ten list which includes My Cousin Rachel 🙂

    • Helen says:

      It’s great to see My Cousin Rachel on your list as it’s one of my favourite books by Daphne du Maurier. I think you would probably like The Red Sphinx and They Came to Baghdad.

  6. Jillian says:

    I love seeing East of Eden on your list. I’ve got the East of Eden Letters on mine {which I recommend.} 🙂

  7. FictionFan says:

    Interesting list! The only one I’ve read is the Agatha Christie and truthfully so long ago I don’t remember much about it. But I have a copy of His Bloody Project and hope to get to it in the next couple of months, and I added The Red House to my wishlist when you reviewed it. Hope the next six months is just as good! 🙂

    • Helen says:

      I would love to know what you think of His Bloody Project and The Red House Mystery if and when you read them. As for Agatha Christie, I have a lot of her books still to be read and am hoping I’ll find some more that I enjoy as much as the Baghdad one!

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

