For the Winner by Emily Hauser

I mentioned recently that I wanted to read more fiction set in Ancient Greece and, having already read Emily Hauser’s first novel, For the Most Beautiful, I was sure that her second, For the Winner, would be a good choice! Hauser’s two books retell stories from Greek mythology from a female perspective – in For the Most Beautiful we see the events of the Trojan War unfold through the eyes of Krisayis and Briseis; For the Winner reimagines the story of Jason and the Argonauts with a focus on Atalanta, another lesser-known woman of the time. The books are part of a planned trilogy – the Golden Apple trilogy – but can be read in any order.

Abandoned on a mountain as a baby, Atalanta is rescued by a peasant and his wife who raise her as their own child. Growing up unaware of her true parentage, there are hints that Atalanta is destined for something special: by the time she is a teenager she has taught herself to hunt, to run with extraordinary speed and to use a bow and arrow with breathtaking skill. And then, one day, she learns the truth: the father who had left her to die on Mount Pelion was King Iasus of Pagasae.

To prove herself to her father, Atalanta decides to join the group of Greek heroes who are preparing for a voyage to the faraway land of Colchis in search of the legendary Golden Fleece. The quest will be led by the King’s nephew, Jason, whose reward for returning with the Fleece will be the kingdom of Pagasae itself – the kingdom Atalanta believes is rightfully hers. Can she win a place on board the Argo and find the Golden Fleece before Jason does?

I loved For the Winner. For the Most Beautiful was an enjoyable read too, but I thought this one was better – there were none of the little problems I remember experiencing with the other book. The biggest improvement was with the scenes depicting the Greek gods and goddesses looking down on the world from Mount Olympus, interfering and intervening in human affairs and arguing amongst themselves. With Zeus taking Atalanta’s side and Hera doing whatever she can to help Jason, I was particularly interested in the role of Iris, whose feelings and motives are less clear. The gods really added something special to the story this time and I looked forward to their appearances rather than finding them irritating as I did in the previous novel.

Although, as I’ve admitted before, my knowledge of Greek myth is quite limited, I was already familiar with the story of Jason and the Argonauts (and also have vague memories of watching the 1963 film version, years ago). However, the story told in this novel is very different, bringing in other characters and elements and mixing them together to create something new and original. Choosing to write from Atalanta’s perspective was a great decision because she is such a wonderful character. I loved following her adventures, but I don’t want to say too much more about her or give away too many details of her story! There were other characters I came to care about too, particularly Atalanta’s friend Myrtessa – and one of the men from the Argo who becomes the novel’s love interest. Jason, on the other hand, is portrayed as cruel, arrogant and completely unlikeable, but his rivalry with our heroine is what drives the plot forward.

I think what I appreciated most about For the Winner, though, was the way it explores the question of choice and free will – and how each of us has the power to defy fate and control our own destiny. Now I’m looking forward to the third book in the trilogy and am curious to see which Greek myth Emily Hauser tackles next.

Thanks to Doubleday for providing a copy of this book for review.

This is Book 5/20 for my 20 Books of Summer challenge. (I’m actually doing better with this challenge than it appears – I have another two books waiting to be reviewed and am in the middle of reading two more!)

15 thoughts on “For the Winner by Emily Hauser

  1. Lark says:

    The story of Atalanta was always one of my favorite Greek myths. How fun that Hauser has re-imagined her story. I’m curious to see which myth she picks to do next. 🙂

    • Helen says:

      I’m sure I must have read about Atalanta before, but the only part of her story that felt familiar to me was the foot race with her suitors. I can’t wait to read Emily Hauser’s next book. 🙂

  2. FictionFan says:

    Sounds great! I don’t know anything much about the Greek myths – was Atalanta part of the Golden Fleece quest in the original too, or is that something the author has imagined?

    • Helen says:

      I didn’t know there was any connection between Atalanta and the Golden Fleece until I read this book – it seems that some sources say she was one of the Argonauts and some don’t.

    • Helen says:

      I love the idea that there was a female Argonaut – I hadn’t realised that Atalanta was sometimes connected with the Golden Fleece myth until I read this book. I need to see the film again too as I can hardly remember it.

  3. Carmen says:

    You may have liked how the author explored and developed the concept of free will with the character of Atalanta, but following one’s destiny is a modern concept. Greek mythology and tragedies all explore the idea of a hero’s predestination to fulfill his or her destiny whether he liked it or not.

    • Helen says:

      Yes, that’s true. I suppose the fact that this is a modern reimagining allows the author to break away from the conventions of the original myths and explore new ideas, which is something some readers will like and some won’t.

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

