Dead Woman Walking by Sharon Bolton

I don’t read a lot of contemporary crime fiction, but I do love Sharon Bolton’s books! Her latest, Dead Woman Walking, is another great one featuring the usual combination of mystery, suspense, atmospheric settings, stunning plot twists and even humour that I have come to expect from her work.

It begins with a group of people enjoying an early morning flight over the Northumberland National Park in a hot air balloon. Among them are Jessica Lane and her sister Isabel. Now a nun known as Sister Maria Magdalena, Isabel is celebrating her fortieth birthday and Jessica has booked the trip as a special treat. As they drift across the peaceful countryside, Jessica spots a man on the ground below attacking a young woman. He looks up to see her watching him just as she picks up her phone to take a photograph. With all of the other passengers now aware of what is happening, the man is left with no choice other than to bring down the balloon and ensure that everyone in it dies.

When the emergency services arrive on the scene, they begin the unpleasant task of locating and identifying the bodies. It’s not long before the pilot and eleven of his twelve passengers are accounted for, but one woman is missing. Has she managed to escape alive? If so, where is she? And who will find her first – the police or the killer?

This is a wonderful book – one of Sharon Bolton’s best, I think – but now that I’ve started to write about it, I’ve found that there is actually very little I can say that won’t be a spoiler! Part of the fun of reading this book (or anything else by this author) is in being surprised by the many clever plot twists which come one after another throughout the second half of the novel and I would hate to take away any of that enjoyment, even inadvertently, for anyone else. You could guess the twists anyway, of course – I think Sharon Bolton is very fair with her readers and the clues are there from the start, if you’re able to put them together – but I did not and as each one was revealed, I found myself turning back to reread earlier passages in the hope of spotting things that I’d missed the first time.

I mentioned the humour, and I’m aware that from what I’ve said so far this probably doesn’t sound like a very amusing story at all – but although some of the themes at the heart of the novel are undoubtedly very dark, there is also a lot of lightness mixed in with the darkness. Believe it or not, most of the touches of comedy are provided by the nuns of Wynding Priory who are following the balloon story with interest, keen to use some of the mystery-solving skills they’ve picked up from watching repeats of old crime dramas on the convent television.

I loved this book and am already looking forward to her next one, The Craftsman, which it seems we can expect in 2018. In the meantime, I still need to read Blood Harvest, the only one of Sharon Bolton’s novels I haven’t read yet.

This is book 10/20 for my 20 Books of Summer challenge.

12 thoughts on “Dead Woman Walking by Sharon Bolton

  1. FictionFan says:

    Oh, I loved this one too, and you’ve summed up perfectly all the reasons why! Only Bolton could have that many corpses and still make the book so entertaining. And I loved those nuns! one of the books of the year for me without a doubt. Glad to hear there’s another on the way. 😀

  2. Carmen says:

    It indeed sounds suspenseful, atmospheric, and maybe a little quirky (from you mentioning that the nuns tried to solve the case based on the crime shows they watched on television). I’m glad you found this a satisfying mystery.

  3. Lark says:

    I’m so glad to hear that you loved this one; I’ve been eagerly awaiting this one. My copy that’s on reserve at the library should be here any day. And I’m even more excited to read it now. 😀 Bolton is one of my favorite authors….even though I did not like Daisy in Chains. I’ve loved all her other books.

    • Helen says:

      I liked Daisy in Chains, but it wasn’t one of my favourites…I think this one is much better. I hope you don’t have to wait too much longer for your copy.

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

