20 Books of Summer – the end

This is the last day of the 20 Books of Summer challenge hosted by Cathy at 746 Books. This has been the first year I’ve participated and although I haven’t been entirely successful with it, I’ve still enjoyed taking part. It’s a simple idea – to make a list of twenty books at the start of the summer and then read them between 1st June and 3rd September – but not that easy when you keep getting distracted by other books! I’ve read more than twenty books this summer, but only sixteen that were on my original list.

Here are the sixteen, with links to my reviews:

1. The Leopard by Giuseppe Tomasi di Lampedusa
2. To the Bright Edge of the World by Eowyn Ivey
3. Long Summer Day by RF Delderfield
4. The Mad Ship by Robin Hobb
5. Beneath a Burning Sky by Jenny Ashcroft
6. The Last Sonโ€™s Secret by Rafel Nadal Farreras
7. The Silk Merchantโ€™s Daughter by Dinah Jefferies
8. Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier (re-read)
9. A Desperate Fortune by Susanna Kearsley
10. Dead Woman Walking by Sharon Bolton
11. For the Winner by Emily Hauser
12. Shadow of the Moon by M.M. Kaye
13. Crimson and Bone by Marina Fiorato
14. The Wonder by Emma Donoghue
15. By Gaslight by Steven Price
16. The Light Years by Elizabeth Jane Howard (review coming soon)

And these are the four I didn’t manage to read in time:

17. The Fortune of War by Patrick Oโ€™Brian
18. The Reckoning by Sharon Penman
19. The Wicked Day by Mary Stewart
20. Heartstone by CJ Sansom

I’m still planning to read the remaining books (in fact I’m halfway through one of them now) but September seemed to arrive very quickly!

Did you take part in 20 Books of Summer too? How did you do?

18 thoughts on “20 Books of Summer – the end

  1. Lory @ Emerald City Book Review says:

    I think I should try to read The Wicked Day and/or The Last Enchantment for the Arthurian theme of Witch Week this year. For some reason I stopped after the first two books, but I thoroughly enjoyed them.

    I did not take part in 20 books of summer because from past experience I know that in the summer I am too easily distracted by books not on my list. But I love seeing other people’s lists!

    • Helen says:

      As I didn’t have time to read The Wicked Day during the 20 Books of Summer, I think I’ll read it for your Witch Week instead. ๐Ÿ™‚ The Last Enchantment is great – if you enjoyed the first two Merlin books I’m sure you’ll like that one too.

  2. Brona says:

    My third year but I only got 7 read this year. But I find that the making of the list is at least half of the fun.

    Congrats on getting 16/20 ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿฝ

    • Helen says:

      I think that’s close enough to be classed as a win. ๐Ÿ™‚ You did better than I did, anyway. I’m looking forward to having another attempt next year!

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

