One Book, Two Book, Three Book, Four…and Five

This is the second time Simon at Stuck in a Book has hosted this meme about past, present and future reads. I didn’t take part in the previous one, although I enjoyed reading everyone else’s posts, but this time I’ve decided to join in the fun myself!

1.) The book I’m currently reading:

I’m reading two books at the moment. The first one (in honour of Halloween) is a short story collection, Gothic Tales by Elizabeth Gaskell. I’ve only read the first story in the book so far and didn’t find it particularly ‘gothic’ but I’m sure the others will be better.

I’m also reading A Red Herring Without Mustard, which is the third book in Alan Bradley’s Flavia de Luce mystery series. I loved the first two and although I’m only halfway through this one, I’m enjoying it as much as the others.

2.) The last book I finished:

This is the second Winifred Holtby book I’ve read: the first was South Riding, which I read earlier in the year and loved. The Land of Green Ginger was not as good, which was probably to be expected, as South Riding is considered to be her masterpiece, but I still enjoyed it and should be posting my thoughts on it soon.

3.) The next book I want to read:

The Ghost of Lily Painter by Caitlin Davies. This is a library book and will probably be the next book I read after I’ve finished the Alan Bradley one.

4.) The last book I bought:

I love historical fiction set during the medieval period and this trilogy about the Percy family was recommended to me. Unfortunately the books are now out of print but I managed to get a used copy of the first one, Lion of Alnwick, in good condition from Amazon. Now I’m trying to decide if I should buy the other two while I know they’re still available or if I should wait to see what I think of this one first!

5.) The last book I was given:

It’s not often that I’m given books by friends and family, but I have received a few review copies this month. This is the most recent one: The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey. It sounds like a beautiful story and I’m looking forward to starting it soon.

If you’ve read any of these books, what did you think of them?

5 thoughts on “One Book, Two Book, Three Book, Four…and Five

  1. Jo says:

    I must be the only person not reading something scary for Halloween. You have reminded me I must read South Riding. Look forward to hearing about these books.

    • Helen says:

      I’m looking forward to The Snow Child – it does sound like a great story. And I’ve been very impressed with Winifred Holtby’s writing. I hope to read the rest of her novels eventually too.

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.