Six in Six: the 2015 edition!

Jo’s meme is the perfect way to look back at the books we’ve read during the first six months of the year. The idea is to choose six categories and for each one list six books that you’ve read so far this year. Six in six! If you need inspiration, Jo has provided a selection of category headings from previous years but you can also create new ones to fit your own reading.

6

I’ve been musing over my categories and lists for a few weeks now and this is what I’ve come up with:

Six books with a person’s name in the title:

1. Fair Helen by Andrew Greig
2. David Copperfield by Charles Dickens
3. Edwin: High King of Britain by Edoardo Albert
4. Ross Poldark by Winston Graham
5. Mary of Carisbrooke by Margaret Campbell Barnes
6. Jakob’s Colours by Lindsay Hawdon

Six books set during a war:

1. If You Go Away by Adele Parks (World War I)
2. Girl at War by Sara Novic (Yugoslav Wars)
3. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak (World War II)
4. The Royalist by S.J. Deas (English Civil War)
5. Red Rose, White Rose by Joanna Hickson (Wars of the Roses)
6. HMS Surprise by Patrick O’Brian (Napoleonic Wars)

Six books that are not novels:

1. The League of the Scarlet Pimpernel by Baroness Orczy (short stories)
2. The Gothic: A Very Short Introduction by Nick Groom (non-fiction)
3. The Importance of Being Earnest by Oscar Wilde (play)
4. Rebellion by Peter Ackroyd (non-fiction)
5. Cyrano de Bergerac by Edmond Rostand (play)
6. The Idle Thoughts of an Idle Fellow by Jerome K. Jerome (essays)

Six books with a mystery to investigate:

1. Peril at End House by Agatha Christie
2. Death in Kashmir by MM Kaye
3. One Good Turn by Kate Atkinson
4. Dark Fire by CJ Sansom
5. Little Black Lies by Sharon Bolton
6. The Silent Boy by Andrew Taylor

Six books about historical women:

1. The Chosen Queen by Joanna Courtney (Edyth of Mercia)
2. The Child from the Sea by Elizabeth Goudge (Lucy Walter)
3. The King’s Curse by Philippa Gregory (Margaret Pole)
4. Rebel Queen by Michelle Moran (Rani Lakshmibai)
5. Alias Grace by Margaret Atwood (Grace Marks)
6. An Accidental Tragedy by Roderick Graham (Mary, Queen of Scots)

Six cities visited:

1. Rome – City of God by Cecelia Holland
2. London – The Crimson Petal and the White by Michel Faber
3. New York City – The Fatal Flame by Lyndsay Faye
4. Florence – Romola by George Eliot
5. Paris – Pure by Andrew Miller
6. Venice – The Glassblower of Murano by Marina Fiorato

Well, that’s my six in six for this year! Will you be posting yours?

13 thoughts on “Six in Six: the 2015 edition!

  1. jessicabookworm says:

    Great categories Helen! I particularly like your cities visited one, it is wonderful how we can travel the world through books. I have just finished writing my own post. I have scheduled it for Wednesday 🙂

  2. MarinaSofia says:

    The categories are rather wonderful – wish I had thought of them, instead of my rather dull and pedestrian ones. Pleasure meeting you and reading about your choices.

    • Helen says:

      This is the fourth year I’ve taken part in this meme, so I tried to think of some different categories that I’d never used before. I’m glad you liked them!

  3. The Little Reader Library says:

    Love all your different categories Helen, especially cities visited and mysteries. I am reading Dark Fire at the moment and really enjoying it. I really enjoy taking part in this meme and reading people’s lists too, really nice way to look back.

    • Helen says:

      I look forward to this meme every year! I’m glad you’re enjoying the Shardlake series. I’ve still only read the first two, but am hoping to continue with the next one soon.

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.