Classics Spin #12: My list

The Classics Club

The Classics Club have announced another of their Classics Spins today; I wasn’t sure whether to take part as I’m already reading two classics (Mauprat by George Sand and Vanity Fair by William Makepeace Thackeray) but I’m more than halfway through both so I’m sure I’ll have time to read one more before the spin deadline!

Here is a reminder of the Spin rules:

* List any twenty books you have left to read from your Classics Club list.
* Number them from 1 to 20.
* On Monday the Classics Club will announce a number.
* This is the book you need to read by 2nd May 2016

And here is my list:

1. The Woodlanders by Thomas Hardy
2. Louise de la Vallière by Alexandre Dumas
3. Mary Anne by Daphne du Maurier
4. The Mill on the Floss by George Eliot
5. Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoevsky
6. I, Claudius by Robert Graves
7. Howards End by E.M. Forster
8. Kristin Lavransdatter by Sigrid Undset
9. The Heir of Redclyffe by Charlotte M. Yonge
10. The Leopard by Giuseppe Tomasi di Lampedusa
11. Shirley by Charlotte Brontë
12. Excellent Women by Barbara Pym
13. The Red House Mystery by A.A. Milne
14. Around the World in Eighty Days by Jules Verne
15. Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë (re-read)
16. The Day of the Triffids by John Wyndham
17. Prince of Foxes by Samuel Shellabarger
18. Frenchman’s Creek by Daphne du Maurier
19. Wives and Daughters by Elizabeth Gaskell
20. East of Eden by John Steinbeck

It was easy to put this selection together because I only have 25 books left on my Classics Club list now. At this stage, I really don’t mind which one I get, but I’m particularly hoping for number 2, 3, 10, 12 or 17.

Have you read any of these books? If you’re a member of the Classics Club, will you be joining in with this spin?

32 thoughts on “Classics Spin #12: My list

  1. Judy Krueger says:

    I have read #10 (excellent!), #16, #17, and #20. I read Prince of Foxes because of my Big Fat Reading Project. In fact, he was a bestseller in the 40s and 50s so I have read three of his: Prince of Foxes was #10 in 1947; Lord Vanity #9 in 1953; Captain From Castile #8 in 1945. All great reads with never a dull moment!

  2. Lory @ Emerald City Book Review says:

    Of these I’m especially fond of I, Claudius and Wives and Daughters. I loved Shirley when I first read it but on a recent reread found it more of a slog. You have a good variety on your list; I hope you get something that suits your reading mood!

    • Helen says:

      I’m looking forward to reading both I, Claudius and Wives and Daughters. I’m not sure about Shirley, but it’s the only Bronte novel I haven’t read yet so I really do need to read it!

  3. Lisa says:

    I’ll have my fingers crossed for Excellent Women. I think you’ll enjoy The Heir of Redclyffe, but after the two you’re reading now you might be ready for something shorter and lighter?

  4. whatmeread says:

    Nice list! I think I’ve read all of them except 2, 9, 13, 16, and 17. I have just posted my list for the spin, most of which I have already read at least once. I am actually looking forward to finishing my list, because I think I have a lot more sources, now, for making up a list of books that are new to me.

  5. TJ @ MyBookStrings says:

    I’ve only read Around the World in 80 Days, and it wasn’t a favorite, unfortunately. So I’m hoping for anything other than #14, so that I can find out more about the books. Good luck!

    • Helen says:

      I’ve seen some very positive reviews of Around the World in Eighty Days and some very negative ones, so I’m interested in reading it for myself to see what I think!

    • Helen says:

      I love the sound of Kristin Lavransdatter – it’s only the length that has put me off reading it before now. I would be happy to get that one on Monday.

  6. Karen K. @ Books and Chocolate says:

    My top picks from your list are Wives & Daughters, Excellent Women, Howards End, and East of Eden. I also liked I Claudius but it was a little tougher to get into — very heavy on the history, but definitely enjoyable once you get into it. Good luck with your spin pick!

    • Helen says:

      I’ve been a bit hesitant about reading East of Eden, but lots of people seem to have loved it. I’m looking forward to reading all of the others you mention!

  7. Margaret @ BooksPlease says:

    I’m taking part in the spin too – and also have Wives and Daughters on my list – not at the same number though. I’ve read some of your list – 1,3,5,6,7,15,16 &18 and I liked them all! Good luck with the spin!

  8. Brona says:

    Mauprat turned me onto George Sand. It’s hard to find her books still in print though, so it is taking me a while to find some nice second hand copies of her books. Mary Anne is also the book that hooked me on DuMaurier.

    The Day of the Triffids is an old favourite and East of Eden is my favourite Steinbeck to date (many of these books are on my classics club reread list).

    Happy Spinning!
    http://bronasbooks.blogspot.com.au/2016/03/cc-spin-12.html

    • Helen says:

      Mauprat is the first George Sand book I’ve read and I’m enjoying it so far. I’m reading a free ebook version because, as you say, her books are not easy to find in print.

      I’m glad to hear you liked Mary Anne, The Day of the Triffids and East of Eden!

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.